Titles and Academic Experience: PhD in Chemistry at The University of Edinburgh (2008, UK), Pharmaceutical Chemist (2007, UK) and Pharmacist (2006, Italy) qualification, honorary researcher at UCL (London, 2005-2007) and postdoc researcher at University of Helsinki (Finland, 2008-2010), joint fellow at Monash University and Commonwealth Scientific Industrial Research Organization, CSIRO (Melbourne, Australia, 2010-2012).
In 2013 I returned to the University of Trieste where my scientific adventure had started with the M.Sci. degree, (honours). In 2017 I joined the Dept. Head's Office as Research  Delegate. In 2018 I became Associate Professor. Thanks to a fantastic team of researchers that allow our scientific progress, in 2018 I received a JSP Fellowship at Buergenstock Stereochemistry Conference, the Vittorio Erspamer Medal (2017 Award) by the Italian Peptide Society and was selected amongst the 11 Rising Stars  in science worldwide by Nature Index. You can find the names and details of our great team members below.

If you want to join us or support our science, please get in touch (see Contact webpage) !

We are also on Twitter @MarchesanLab
Prof. Silvia Marchesan
Principal Investigator
  1. Executive Director
    Dr. Slavko Kralj
    Postdoc Researcher
    TALENTS3 fellow. Expertise in magnetic nanoparticle (NP) synthesis and magnetic assembly. Bachelor's degree in pharmacy and economy. Co-founder of start-up NanoSCI & inventor of iNANOvative™ NP cluster systems.
  2. Executive Director
    Dr. Ana M. Garcia
    Postdoc Researcher
    Ramon Areces Fellow. Degree in Chemistry with special awards by University of Castilla-La Mancha (2011). PhD in Organic Chemistry by Complutense University (Madrid), focus on the design and synthesis of bioactive molecules.
  3. Executive Director
    Dr. Daniel Iglesias
    Postdoc Researcher
    Degree in Chemistry at the Univ. of Castilla-La Mancha (Spain, 2012). PhD at University of Trieste (Italy). He works on the functionalisation of nanocarbons towards new functional hybrids/composites.
  4. Executive Director
    Chiara Romano
    M. Sci. student
    B. Sc. degree in Biotechnology at the Università del Salento (2014). M.Sci. student in Nanobio-technology. Research interests on supramolecular gels and their applications as scaffolds for tissue engineering. Now at MIT.
  5. Executive Director
    Evelina (Eva) Parisi
    PhD student
    Hon. M. Sci. in Med. Chem., Univ. of Calabria (2012). Masters in "Marketing & Pharmaceutical Management" (2014) & "Pharm. Technologies and Regulatories Activities" (2016). Research focus is on chiral superstructures.
  6. Executive Director
    Marina Kurbasic
    PhD student
    M. Sci. degree in Chemistry at the University of Trieste (2016). Research focus on Biomolecular Organic Chemistry and antimicrobial peptides.
  7. Executive Director
    Cristina Cringoli
    PhD student
    M. Sci. degree in Medicinal Chemistry at the University "Federico II" of Naples (2015). Focus on solid-phase peptide synthesis.
  8. Executive Director
    We have a position for a Master's or undergraduate student
  9. Executive Director
    Simone Viada
    M. Sci. student
    B.Sc. degree in Chemistry from University of Turin. Reseach focus is on supramolecular catalysis.
In the background photo: view over the Mediterranean, the sea embraced by Trieste


Prof. Gökçen Akgül, Recep Tayyip Erdoğan University (TURKEY) - 2018
Dr. Manuel Melle-Franco, University of Aveiro (PORTUGAL) - 2017
Dr. Cally Haynes, University of Cambridge (UK) - 2017
Prof. Darja Lisjak, Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana (SLOVENIA) - 2015


Dott. Gabriele Sorentini (undergraduate student) - 2018
Dott.ssa Alexia Mattellone (undergraduate student) - 2017
Dott. Massimo Urban (undergraduate student) - 2016